PALM FRONDS – Shawl

About this pattern: I knit this shawl for my mom as a Christmas present in 2009.  This is a great project for knitters looking to get into lace knitting, since the pattern is simple enough to easily memorize and the results are visually stunning (as most patterns based around feather and fan tend to be).  The combination of large needles and lace weight yarn means that the shawl knits up quite quickly and has a nice airiness to it.

Needles: size 11.

Yarn: Knitpicks Shadow, between 500-600 yards.

Pattern:

Loosely cast on 56 stitches.

Row 1: Knit all stitches.

Row 2: Purl all stitches.

Row 3: K1, *K2TOG x3, (YO, K1) x6, K2TOG x3* repeat between *s to last stitch, K1.

Row 4: Knit all stitches.

Repeat rows 1-4 until the shawl measures approximately 7 feet, bind off loosely.  Block!

ERRATA:

The shawl in the picture actually included an extra repeat of the pattern, meaning you would have to cast on 74 stitches.  I apologize to those who have already started the shawl!  Thank you Liz for pointing this out!

54 thoughts on “PALM FRONDS – Shawl

  1. Scarf is gorgeous! Haven’t seen one with lace yarn and large needles before. I know your mom was thrilled. It’s amazing that something that lovely and intricate looking has a four-line pattern.

    Those kindle covers. . . I don’t even HAVE a kindle and I want a cover.

    You’re cranking out all of this stuff AND a PhD?!?! Fantastic!

    • Thanks for all the kind words! :) It can be tough to get my knitting time in with my graduate program, but I try to set aside time so I can watch TV, pick up my needles, and de-stress a little! ;)

  2. I can’t tell from the picture, but is this based in garter stitch? Or should Row 4 read, “Purl all stitches”? It doesn’t seem to be working for me….

    • The pattern is right – row 4 (wrong side) is knit in order to make ‘bumps’ on the right side of the work (pictured). Are you working this flat or in the round? The pattern is written for a flat piece.

  3. This is an absolutely delightfully refreshing shawl. Continue your creativity with us uncreative ones…
    Thanks for sharing!

  4. Thanks for sharing this lovely looking shawl. I have just finished Rows 1-4 and have ended up with 65 stitches. The stitches seem to tally when I counted off from the pattern, i.e. for each repeat of Twice K2Tog and (YO, K1)x6 I got 6 extra stitches. Is this right?

    Thanks very much.

  5. Sorry! I just worked out where I went wrong. I just kept alternating the K2Tog x3 and the (YO,K1)x6 and not repeating the pattern properly.

    Thanks again for the pattern.

  6. This is my first lace try. Ive had to start over 5 times because of being distracted. So far Im only on my 6th row and Im not seeing any sort of pattern. Am I doing something wrong? I am using the 11 needles but it just look like a bunch of holes. Maybe this is beyond my abilities. But gosh it would be a lovely gift for my daughter. I bought the darker green from Knit Picks.

    Thanks

    • Hello Liz, and welcome to lace knitting! :) As long as you’re following the pattern carefully, it shoudl look right – on the first few repeats of lace it can be hard to see a pattern forming, especially with this shawl, since it’s so open. If you get to the 20th or so row and you still can’t see a pattern forming, maybe you’ve made a mistake… Do you have a digital camera? Maybe a picture could help. Also, don’t get discouraged, I have complete faith that you can do this! :)

      • Hi Mariana,

        Ive continued my project, and wanted my son in law cant seem to send a photo to you via this site. Any suggestions. Sorry to be such a pain.

        Liz

  7. Hi Mariana,

    Husband is sending pic of “my creation” on his Yahoo. Sorry if its too large. We dont know what were doing as we are aging baby boomers.

    Liz

  8. Hi Mariana,

    Just finished blocking my shawl. I kept going with the 56 stitches and it is just beutiful! I cant wait until my daughters birthday and see her face. Thank you so much. I will continue to watch for your latest creations. Although this one was a little tough for me it was well worth it!

    Liz

  9. Hi Mariana! I think this shawl is lovely, I’m going to give it a try! I had a quick question for you though. I noticed you corrected the number of cast on stiches to make it wider, will that change the amount of yarn needed? Or is the amount given correct? Thanks!

    Anne

    • Hey Anne! The yardage is the actual amount it took for me to knit the shawl pictured (the 74 stitch cast on one). If you decide to do it with on 56 stitches, it should take a little less! :)

  10. Hi Mariana

    I’ve been looking for a shawl pattern that was exactly what I wanted for a while and your design is perfect. However, I have a couple of questions before I can start. I’m from the UK and am not sure of the translations between needle sizes and wool amounts. I’ve checked a website that stocks this yarn and it seems that Knitpicks Shadow is a 4ply merino. Is that right? If so I can get an alternative easily over here. Also, can you confirm that size 11 needles are 8mm. But the thing that’s really got me is how much wool to buy. In the UK we buy wool by weight, usually in 50g or 100g balls so I have no idea how much I will need and I would like to buy all my wool at the same time to ensure its all from the same batch.

    Hope you can help.
    Thanks

    Alison

      • Hi Mariana

        Thanks for the help. You have told exactly what I needed to know to start my shawl. I’ll let you know how it goes.

        Thanks for the great pattern.

        Alison

  11. Hi Mariana, I’m looking for a shawl for my wedding, this seems quite ideal – do you have any close up photo’s of the pattern though? Many thanks =)

  12. hi mariana! i am attempting this lace shawl. it will be my first lace project :) and i was wondering what cast on method did you use on this?

  13. Hi Mariana,
    Thanks so much for this lovely pattern. I heard about it through the Mr Hugzzz site (ittakesballstoknit.com)as a good pattern to start learning lace knitting. And it is! I’m about half way through and it’s going smoothly. Truly lovely. So thanks!
    Antoinette

  14. Thank you! I’ve been searching for an hour right now trying to find a pattern for my step mom! Thank you so much!!!! Beautiful work! I will keep checking back!

  15. I think this shawl is absolutely lovely! But I would love to have one not quite so wide–somewhere around 1 ft instead of 2 ft–in order to make it as a quick cover for going into AC cooled restaurants in the summer. How many stitches would I cast on for a narrower one? This would be my first try at a lace stitch shawl and I love the idea of have something a bit smaller for my first project–I’m still learning to try other stitches and really want to make this one. I’ll still try it if it cannot be made narrower. Love, love, love it.

  16. I HAVE BEEN KNITTING THIS PATTERN, I GET RIPPLES NOT LEAVES. ARE YOU SURE YOU HAVE THE CORRECT PICTURE WITH THE PATTERN ISTRUCTIONS.

  17. This is beautiful. I haven’t tied lace yet, but the idea of big needles is definitely appealing. This will give me incentive to finish my current cozy, warm project (living north of Toronto, Ontario where we have snow!) I’ll have fun chooaing the yarn for this one. Thank you so much for sharing.

  18. Pingback: Teveel tegelijkertijd, maar allemaal leuk! | Opdebank

  19. HI- just found this pattern via Ravelry. The needles you quote – size 11’s – is that american 11’s – ie size 8 metric or British 11’s – size 3 metric? And as I can’t find the exact wool in UK is it a lace weight or heavier wool? Thanks for the inspiration – I want to start now for a Hawaiian cruise next year!

  20. I have just finished Rows 1-4 . I casted on 74 stitches. The stitches seem to multiply when I counted off from the pattern, i.e. for each repeat of Twice K2Tog and (YO, K1)x6 I got extra stitches. I now have 92 stitches. I don’t think I am doing the pattern right. Are you repeating the bracket areas 6xs, and the M2Tog 2xs. Have you added beads to your pattern yet, and what section of the pattern did you add it to if you did?

    • Hi Mariana
      I just figured out what I did, but still would love to know if you ever beaded this pattern, and if so where you placed the beads.I am attempting this pattern in Alpaca lace. Can’t wait to see how it turns out. 1st lace pattern attempt.
      Thank you :)

  21. Hi Marianna

    I have always loved this pattern especially in Sirdar Snuggly Snowflake Chunky, brilliant as baby blankets as light, soft and incredibly warm. The pattern number is 1286. Here in the UK it is called Scallop stitch. I downloaded your amazing shawl pattern a few years ago but it didn’t like being re-downloaded onto my new Mini Mac so I have just copied your pattern again. Thank you so much for another version of this so effective lace design.

    Regards
    Mair James ( pronounced Myer)

  22. Pingback: You Can Make Yourself a Shawl with One of These Free Knitting Patterns

  23. Pingback: Knitting Bucket List Challenge: Delicate Lace Shawl and Patchwork Afghan - Knitting for Charity

Leave a Reply

