Spinning lace for large shawls

The latest bug to bite me is spinning single-ply lace for large shawls… I don’t know why I got this crazy idea in my head, but suddenly I don’t want to knit with anything but my own handspun lace. It wouldn’t be that big of a deal if I wasn’t doing 1000+ yard projects. Oops.

My first attempt was:

This yarn, turned into:

This shawl!

Pretty sweet, right? I have been using it a TON in the super-air-conditioned office in the summer. :)

My more current project started off like this:

Became this:

(About 1700 yards, undyed)

(And dyed!)

And is currently in this state:

I am really digging it! :D

3 thoughts on “Spinning lace for large shawls

    • :D I just finished it *today*! It’s so exciting to see white fluff become a lace shawl!! Going to make a post about it as soon as I have nice pics, but you can see the crappy phone pics on my rav project for now if you’re curious! :)

  1. Pingback: MARIANA KNITS - | It’s been awhile…

Leave a Reply

