Questions from the Giveaway!

Good morning!

I had some responses for some of the people who commented on the giveaway thread (don’t forget to comment for your chance to win two mini-skeins!), so I figured I would do them here instead of screw up the comment count by replying in the actual thread.

Kstr on November 5, 2011 at 7:49 PM said:
I wish I could spin the roving colors are lovely! And the small hexapuff collections look like a lot of fun to knit.

Sue Edlin on November 5, 2011 at 8:35 PM said:
Your rovings make me wish I knew how to spin. But if I spin, when will I knit??

You should all definitely try out spinning! It’s one of my favorite hobbies now and it’s totally portable and affordable if you’re just starting out with a drop spindle. I use the Turkish drop spindle from knitpicks and love it!

Susan on November 6, 2011 at 1:41 AM said:
Pretty! Something awesome– I may be able to start working on my Beekeeper’s Quilt again tomorrow, after my arm has been giving me problems. I’m up to 30 puffs!

I feel you! :( I also have problems with my hands/arms/fingers that can sometimes make it difficult to knit/spin/have fun. Currently I’m struggling with an annoying base joint on my thumb (De Quervain’s Syndrome) and some trigger fingers in my right hand. Ugh!

janel r on November 6, 2011 at 2:09 AM said:
love that you have hunger games themed stuff- I have only read 1 or 2 of these books(i have to ask my daughter-she gave me them to read, but I know we don’t have them all) and I loooooved the books. I feel like a re-read then I need to come back to check out the fibery goodness to see what I just can’t live without. You have been favorited.

Yay! We love to dye “collections” in cool themes! I REALLY loved those books and the colors are the way that I see the characters. :)

forkis on November 6, 2011 at 5:33 PM said:
Lovely yarn! I handed in my proposal for my dissertation on Friday, yay! Though that mightn’t be very awesome to people who aren’t me. So another awesome thing is that Christopher Lee is coming to give a talk in my college this week. I am an excited fangirl.
My Ravelry name is Forkis, and in case I missed anything about the offer being counrty-specific, I’ll pay for any extra cost associated with shipping to Ireland if I win!

Congrats on your dissertation proposal!!! I will be at that stage in less than 1 year! o.o A little bit scary to think about, haha. And the offer is not US only – I’m happy to ship anywhere else in the world! :D

jgordon1110 on November 6, 2011 at 9:26 PM said:
Tell me about the hexi-puffs. Sounds interesting! I don’t have any cats or dogs but I knit for my teddy bears and grandchildren and 4 great grandchildren.

Wow – that’s a lot of children! :D The hexpuffs are part of a large quilt/blanket and are so fun to knit, since each one feels like a little happy victorious FO when you finish it! :) They’re stuffed for extra warmth which makes them super squishy, too! You can search ravelry for The Beekeeper’s Quilt pattern to see.

michelle on November 7, 2011 at 3:20 AM said:
I wish i knew how to dye yarn! The “christmas” yarns in this give away will make an awesome sweater for my son’s 1st christmas!

It’s really not hard! There are lots of tutorials online and you can start out with Kool-aid, which is totally non-toxic and can be used in your kitchen! :)

One thought on “Questions from the Giveaway!

  1. y’all should believe Mariana when she says it’s easy and fun to learn to spin and dye! she very patiently taught me to do both over the past month or so, and now I’m totally hooked. learning from someone in person is great if you can find a teacher, but there are good online tutorials as well. plain wool roving is cheap (e.g., on KnitPicks), so you don’t have to feel bad about making mistakes (as long as you learn from them). if you’re wavering, I’d say just go for it!!

    k

Leave a Reply

