So, about this blogging thing…

I’ve decided to actually begin to blog about knitting and other fiber-related things, since, well, I love them! And it was making me sad to just have a few posts on my knitting blog, even if it is exciting to see people knitting up patterns I’ve designed.

Today is the first really cold day of the season in NYC and, surprise surprise, it really makes me want to go home early from work to knit and cuddle with my kitty! :3 I feel so validated in my excessive knitting when it’s scarf/heavy sock/cowl/mittens weather – “See, I really did need to spend $100 at my LYS to make this scarf, since I would be freezing without it!” Ahem, right.

My latest knitting obsession is The Beekeeper’s Quilt, since (1) the result is adorable, (2) it’s relatively low cost since I’m using scraps from my stash, (3) it’s highly portable (!! SUBWAY KNITTING!), and (4) the idea of knitting hundreds of these little guys is strangely soothing in a totally OCD way. Oh, and I’m probably going to learn how to embroider, since I need to have cute little animals, flowers, etc. on at least some of the little puffs… >:D ADORABLE QUILT, HERE I COME!… Slowly. As in, probably a year or two from now. :3 Actually, it might be a little quicker. I started it 4 days ago and I already have 16 or 17 puffs. Assuming I’ll need 400 or so hexes, it’s possible for me to be done in exactly 96 more days! That actually doesn’t sound that bad, and it should still be cold then… Hmmmm, okay, I’m officially making a commitment to be done in about 3 months! Watch me go! Here is a pretty terrible late-night picture of my hexes so far:

Gahhhhhh, LOVE THEM! So smooshy.

Another recent FO of mine is this shawl for my brother:

Isn’t it special? I was really pleased with myself because I dyed the yarn in the exact amounts needed for the shawl and it totally worked out – not without some anxiety about the last few rows of each color while the ball of yarn dwindled… ;)

Anyway, it’s late and it’s time to get some sleep! Goodnight!

2 thoughts on “So, about this blogging thing…

  1. I love your palm fronds pattern and am still knitting that up. The Beekeeper’s Quilt sounds like a really fun project. Good luck with the 3-month deadline.

    • Awesome! Please share a picture when you finish knitting it up!! :D

      And yeah, the beekeeper’s quilt IS really fun, I highly recommend, especially if you live somewhere cold and need a really warm quilt! <3

Leave a Reply

